current obsessions | the late edition

Well, I did my best to stay on track with my current obsessions posts, but life has been hectic over the past few months! This post was supposed to cover July and August, but it’s already September. Oops.

July and August were very busy months for me — I started a new summer job, went on a cruise, and moved back to Austin, Texas, for college (and into my first apartment!). I’m about two-and-a-half weeks into my junior year of college, and although things aren’t busy quite yet, the first wave of project deadlines and exams is quickly approaching. However, I thought I’d take some time to tell you about the stuff that’s been on my radar lately…

{ m u s i c }

  • Halsey 
    I wrote about Halsey in a previous post, but I just had to mention her again because her debut album, Badlands, was released on August 28 and it is SO GOOD. It’s the kind of dark, broody pop that’s right up my alley, similar to Lorde (side note: I might actually die if they collaborated). It’s rare for me to like every single song on an album, but I do! Badlands is a work of art, and Halsey herself (real name: Ashley Frangipane) is just as brutally honest on her album as she is in interviews and on social media. Can’t wait to see what she’ll bring to the pop industry in the future.

Fav tracks: Roman HolidayDriveColors, Gasoline + pretty much every other track. on the album.

  • Alessia Cara
    The first time I heard Alessia Cara’s song Here, I was hooked. Not only does Cara’s jazzy voice float effortlessly over a great R&B beat, but the song is about Cara not wanting to be at a party and feeling like she doesn’t belong. “Oh God, why am I here?” she wonders at one point.

I think of this song as the Introvert’s Anthem. As an introvert myself, I can definitely relate to the feeling of discomfort that comes with being in a room full of people I don’t know. This song is refreshingly different from the usual pop music narrative that involves partying all night and letting loose. Of course there’s nothing wrong with partying all night, but it’s not my scene, and it’s not Cara’s scene either.

Cara’s debut EP, Four Pink Walls, was released on August 26 and can be found on Spotify and iTunes.

  • CHVRCHES
    CHVRCHES’ next album, Every Open Eye, won’t be released until Sept. 25, but the group has released a few singles in advance. Leave a Trace and Never Ending Circles are the kind of airy synth-pop tracks we’ve come to expect from this band, but that’s not a bad thing. They’re sticking to their formula, and it works!
  • Carly Rae Jepsen
    All I have to say is that Carly Rae Jepsen’s new album, Emotion, is utter pop perfection. There’s way more to this girl than Call Me Maybe. Please go listen to this album.

Favorite tracks: Boy ProblemsLet’s Get LostGimmie LoveI Didn’t Just Come Here to Dance, and of course, I Really Like You.

  • Some other tracks I’ve been listening to:
    West End Kids – New Politics
    A Perfect End – Atlas Genius
    Drag Me Down – One Direction (seriously, how is this song so catchy?!)

{ b o o k s }

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
    Okay, so I’m way late to the party on this one, but I finally had some free time to read while I was on my cruise. Unfortunately the effect of the big twist was lost on me because I knew the gist of what happened due to seeing gifs from the movie adaptation, but it was still a good read. Nick and Amy are two immensely flawed, messed-up people and somehow, that makes them perfect for each other.
  • Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll
    This was an interesting read that also had a pretty big twist — one that I didn’t really see coming. It follows the story of Ani FaNelli, a successful writer in New York City, who must relive a series of traumatic events that occurred during her time at The Bradley School, an elite school on Philadelphia’s Main Line. These events build up to a surprising climax and the reader suddenly begins to understand the real person underneath Ani’s cold and catty exterior.

Reaaaaaaally short post this time around (which is ironic because I’m posting it so late and had more time to work on it) but like I said, I’ve been busy! I’ll try to be more active on this blog and try to post whenever time permits. In the meantime, thanks for reading!

wordpress signature

Leave a Reply

