current obsessions | march & april 2015

co_march_april15

Hey guys!

Soooo school has been pretty crazy lately, hence the lack of a current obsessions post for March alone. But I have a bit of free time now and decided to make a bimonthly edition (and maybe I’ll continue to structure it this way in the future! Who knows).

Anyways, here’s some of the stuff I’ve been into lately:

{ m u s i c }

  • Halsey

I recently discovered Halsey and I’ve been playing her music nonstop. I don’t know how exactly to describe her, but she reminds me of a combination of Ellie Goulding and Banks. (Also, she has really gorgeous blue hair. I’m quite mesmerized.) Her debut full-length album won’t be released until this summer, but until then, check out her EP, Room 93, on Spotify and iTunes. Good stuff.

 

 

  • Smallpools

I’m really proud of this picture tbh

A few months ago, I heard Smallpools’ song “Dreaming” and was instantly hooked. This was the kind of catchy pop-rock that I’ve always loved, the kind that makes you want to dance around your room while you’re getting ready for work or class. Smallpools recently released their first full-length album, LOVETAP!, and not long afterwards, I found out that they were playing a free show at my university as part of my school’s annual Forty Acres Fest. Naturally, I spent the next couple of weeks listening to their album non-stop and was front row at the concert, which was pretty exciting. It was the first show they’d played since releasing their album, and they later tweeted about how cool it was to see people who already knew the words and were singing along (and I was one of those people!). 🙂

Also, I managed to get a really cool picture of frontman Sean Scanlon. It’s probably the best concert picture I will ever take.

  • Marina and the Diamonds – “Froot”

I’m a huge fan of Marina and the Diamonds’ previous album, “Electra Heart,” and “Froot” is a pretty good follow-up. It’s a little less dance-focused than its predecessor, but you’re not aware of just how catchy this album is until later, when you realize that the songs have been stuck in your head for days. (Even just writing this got the titular track stuck in my head AGAIN. Not complaining though.)

 

  • Broods

    Here’s a picture I took at the Broods concert on April 2, 2015.

I’ve been a fan of this brother-sister duo for a while, but I just saw them live in concert a couple of weeks ago! Broods’ album Evergreen is chock-full of dreamy pop songs that make you want to hop in your car and drive down the highway with the wind in your hair. At least, that’s what I feel like doing whenever I listen to their music. Their self-titled EP also includes some great tracks that didn’t make it onto the album (my favorite is “Coattails”).

 

 

{ t v }

  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Okay, first of all, listen to this and tell me it’s not the catchiest theme song since “Friends.”

I’m not exaggerating when I say that this song was stuck in my head for about three weeks. (Also see “Peeno Noir,” another insanely catchy song that shows up later in the season.)

“Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” follows cult survivor Kimmy Schmidt (played by the adorable Ellie Kemper) as she tries to make it in New York after escaping from an underground bunker. The premise sounds kind of bleak, but in the hands of executive producers Tina Fey and Robert Carlock, it’s hilarious! Kimmy is surrounded by a colorful cast of characters, most notably Titus Andromedon (played by Tituss Burgess), Kimmy’s ridiculously over-the-top roommate with big aspirations and some great pipes — seriously, please just listen to “Peeno Noir.” It makes about zero sense but it’s so wonderful.

One of my favorite things about this show is Kimmy’s sunny disposition — she never lets anything get her down. If a cult survivor (albeit a fictional one) can be this positive, then why can’t I? I kid — I know it’s not that easy. But seeing how happy and optimistic Kimmy is made me want to feel that way too.

The show has drawn a bit of criticism for how it portrays race and sexuality, but the cast and others involved with the show contend that it’s merely poking fun at those stereotypes, rather than perpetuating them. I’m not sure where I stand on that account — the show features an Asian man (who’s also a love interest for Kimmy) named Dong who is in America illegally, speaks heavily-accented English, and naturally, is good at math. There’s quite a few arguments out there regarding whether the show has given him the treatment he deserves. As an Asian myself, I’d like to see Dong get more development beyond the constraints of the typical Asian stereotype. Hopefully that’s something that happen in season 2.

 

{ m o v i e s }

  • Kingsman: The Secret Service

I never expected Colin Firth to play an ass-kicking secret agent type, but he pulled it off so well! This movie is the kind of action-packed, humorous spy thriller that we all secretly (or not-so-secretly) love. The movie centers on Gary “Eggsy” Unwin (played by Taron Egerton, who I kind of have a crush on now), a guy who doesn’t really have a lot going for him until he’s recruited into a top-secret and high class society by Firth’s character, Harry Hart. He soon finds himself trying to thwart a devious plot that criminal tech mastermind Valentine (played by Samuel L. Jackson). This movie has everything from sharp-looking suits to bulletproof umbrellas to a very adorable pug (with a hilarious name). There’s also a couple of notable fight scenes that are really well-choreographed — quite violent, actually, but the impact is lessened by just how ridiculous the situation is. Anyway, this is everything that a fun spy movie should be. I liked it a lot, as did my parents! (Although there is a part at the end that was kind of awkward to watch with my parents…. but don’t worry, it was only a few seconds long.)

 


 

That’s it for this month’s current obsessions. Kind of short, but I’ve been so busy with school that I haven’t really had as much time to watch or listen to things as I would like. But I have less than a month until the semester ends, which is pretty exciting.

Thanks for reading!

wordpress signature

One thought on “current obsessions | march & april 2015

Leave a Reply

